Cure For Jet Lag

Standard

Just got home from LA on the Red Eye from the most exciting Holistic Nutrition MBA Program.  

It was amazing to spend the last 5 days with 19 exceptional like minded woman and one brave man.

I realized when I walked into my kitchen after being away, that something was missing….

The energy actually felt stagnant…..this kitchen needed some LOVE!!!!

As you know, cooking is my Moving Meditation.  

It takes me out of my head and into my heart..pulling the” Creative Jen” into the “Spotlight”

My instinct was calling for “COOKIES”

COOKIES was the call to Cure My Jet Lag….

While in LA, I  ate at Real Food. Besides loving everything I ordered and ate, I closed my dinner with their very own…

Peanut Butter and Jam Cookies

These cookies are the BOMB…My kids walked in from mid terms today with stressed out body language…until they caught the aroma coming out of the kitchen

I accomplished my goal of moving ENERGY for sure!!!!  Big Smiles!!!!

I always like to get my readers to think….What pulls you into your Spotlight?

Peanut Butter and Jam Cookies

No Preservatives..Delicious, Creamy, Crunchy, Mouth Watering Cookie…. This cookie emulates a PB&J sandwich….. What can be better?


INGREDIENTS

    • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat or barley flour
    • 2 1/4 cups oat flour
    • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
    • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
    • 2 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter
    • 1 3/4 cups maple syrup
    • 1/4 cup canola oil
    • 1/4 choice of milk
    • 1/2 cup raspberry preserves

INSTRUCTIONS

    1. Preheat oven to 325F
    2. Line 2 heavy baking sheets with parchment paper
    3. Stir flours, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and blend
    4. Using an electric mixer, beat the peanut butter, maple syrup, and milk in a large bowl
    5. Slowly add flour mixture and beat until blended
    6. Using a ice cream scoop, scoop approx 1/3 cup of dough for each cookie onto prepared baking sheets
    7. Separate an inch apart
    8. With the back of a spoon make an indentation on the top of the cookie, do not go to the bottom of the cookie
    9. Spoon the preserves into a small resealable plastic bag
    10. Cut a small hole on the bottom corner of the bag
    11. WOW! Your own pastry bag
    12. Squeeze the bag slowly, releasing a small amount of preserves into each indentation
    13. Bake for 22 minutes, or until the cookies puff and turn golden
    14. Eat em up……or store in a airtight container
9 responses »

  1. THose look ridiculous and I can actually smell them from your description. Please and I mean PLEASE don’t make those beauties when I come over! xoxo

  2. Jen: These cookies look amazing. I’m going to try them with almond milk instead of cow milk. Melted dark chocolate would be amazing instead of jam too. Welcome home! xo, Amy

    • Yes, I used Unsweetened Almond milk as well..thats why I wrote milk of choice..I also made a few plain for Jack….and YES….thought of the Chocolate as well…Let me know how they come out….xo

  3. I’d Iove to hear about the Holistic Nutrition MBA program! Please share!
    And, those cookies look amazing… any suggestions for baking them Gluten – Free?

  4. Jen —

    I love all your recipes so I am looking forward to making these.

    I really want to know more about the Holistic nutrition MBA program as well. We will have to figure out a time to get in a phone call.

    Karen

  5. These look soooo tasty – will try. Moreover, thanks for cluing me into how we need to zero in on our kids’ body language. I also like the encouragement to think about my “spotlight.” I always learn something reading between the lines of this blog. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

