The Practice Of Gratitude

Standard

Happy Thanksgiving to you all….

I am grateful for all the wonderful responses I get in return from all my posts….. Thank You!!!!

I have to say that I have realized since blogging, that I love to write.  I find that I am most inclined to write after I have created something delicious in my kitchen.

I just finished baking a Simple Buttermilk Cake.  My husband actually thought it came from a bakery!

It is not too sweet and is made with a fraction of the butter and sugar you’ll find in most cakes.

Ingredients

2  1/2 cups of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 cup fine grain natural cane sugar

1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt

2 large eggs

1  1/2 cups buttermilk

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled a little

Grated zest of 3 lemons

12 pitted and quartered Medjool dates

1 cup lightly toasted walnuts

1 tablespoon of  large grain raw sugar

Creating

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Spray tart pan:  you may also use a 9 by 13 inch rectangular baking dish

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, fine grain sugar, salt and dates in a large bowl

In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and buttermilk

Whisk in melted butter and lemon zest

Add the buttermilk mixture to the flour mixture and stir until combined

Spoon the batter in the prepared pan, pushing it out towards the edges.

Scatter the toasted walnuts on top, and sprinkle with the large-grain sugar.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.  To check if the cake is finished insert a toothpick to the center, it should come out clean

Cakes keep baking even after they come out of the oven, if you over bake this cake your end result will be a scone…

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Each year before Thanksgiving I do a lot of  thinking about Gratitude.   Although I am so grateful for a delicious meal, Thanksgiving brings me so much more than food.  The smell of a delicious meal cooking, spending downtime with family, sitting around a table with friends and family is what I am most grateful for.  A few years ago we started a tradition of taking turns around the table (even the little ones)  stating what we are thankful for.

Its amazing to watch the smiles as each person gets a moment in the “Gratitude Spotlight.”

This practice of speaking your gratitude actually sets the tone for a beautiful, warm, and yummy evening.

Thanksgiving is an opportunity to drop all your emotional baggage and leave it outside the front door.  

Give thanks for Just Being!!!!!

I would love to hear what your families practice of gratitude is….and if you don’t have one…..no worries…..

Mark this year as the first….

Wishing you much gratitude, love and laughter,

xo jen

Jen Meister

Certified Holistic Health Counselor

jennypm68@me.com

6 responses »

  1. At this time of year, like you Jen, I think about who/what I am most grateful for. So, if we are going to share….I am most grateful for my marriage. Twenty plus years and we are still very, very happy!

  2. sounds delicious. will try to make when we get to california. don’t know if it will be done by the time you leave, but the ingredients are super!!! see you luv

  3. After today’s 8:30 class, I am incredibly grateful for your weekly inspiration and guidance to change my body, dig to find strength – thrilled to have survived and come out feeling great. Enjoy your thanksgiving…

Leave a Reply

