Love Your Treats

Standard

I have a Treat for you this week…and I mean a TREAT

First, I want to thank all of you who read and have been supporting me with my Simple Clean and Whole blog.

I received such a wonderful response on nourishing your body with water.  So simple right?

If it was challenging for you, don’t be discouraged, jump right back in, your body with thank you.

I was actually asked by Dave Field, the Summit Girls High School Cross Country Coach to speak with the girls about hydration and good healthy snacking.

A healthy approach to snacking and hydrating will promote increased energy before, during, and after their runs.

If the girls gain some insight from our meeting with one healthy habit, then, I will have succeeded.

It is truly a  gift understanding the impact of a leading a Healthy Nutritional Lifestyle.

I am grateful to share my knowledge as well as giving the girls a little “FOOD FOR THOUGHT”

My personal reflection of the week that I would like to share:

I am a surfer of Recipe Websites.  I must have 50 cookbooks, for some reason I am wanting more and more.

More information, more healthy substitutions, and more Simple Clean and Whole ways of cooking.

One of my favorite pastimes is getting lost in the  kitchen cooking and baking.  I am  passionate about touching, smelling, and of course eating natural WHOLE foods.

For me cooking is a “Moving Meditation.”   The reason I call it a moving meditation is because I prefer to be in my kitchen in total silence…just me, my cooking supplies and delicious foods.  This is a time where I choose to slow down.

There is something to be said about the practice of silence.  For me, silence is a everyday conscious practice that is always a work in progress.

We lead such busy lives, always trying to figure it all out through our thoughts or verbally speaking.

Take a moment to reflect on:

How many moments a day do you actually sit or drive in silence?

When do you give yourself permission to slow down?

This is some “REAL LIFE FOOD FOR THOUGHT”

Give yourself a moment to take a deep breath and think about it……

Now for your TREAT:

Simple Clean and Whole Agave Oatmeal Cookie

This is a recipe that I found on the Whole Foods website.

I tweaked it a bit by using Agave Nectar instead of Maple Syrup.

These cookies have become a hit at the Meister residence.  Actually, they have become the signature dessert for dinner parties.  Not only do adults like them, they are the most sought out cookie among my daughters friends who frequent my kitchen.  I  have even made them for team dinners.  Of course, we love them with chocolate chips!!!!

So, from my kitchen to yours with lots of  YUMM!!!

Agave Oatmeal Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats (Old Fashion Quaker Original)

3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons of spelt, or whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 cup Light Agave Syrup

2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Optional:

1/3 cup chocolate chips, nuts or cranberries (be creative)

Creating:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Place oats in a medium saucepan and toast over medium heat

Stir frequently, until oats are golden and fragrant (approx 3 minutes)

Turn off heat

In a medium bowl, mix flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and warm oats

In a small bowl, wisk oil, agave and vanilla

Add agave mixture to the oat mixture, combine well

The dough will be sticky and warm

Add your choice of chocolate chips, nuts, or cranberries

Drop rounded teaspoonful onto a parchment lined baking sheet

Gently flatten dough with your hands

Bake until golden brown…approx 15 minute

Let cool and enjoy!!!  Heavenly and Healthy!!!

A little bit about Agave

You are probably thinking, What the heck is Agave Syrup?

Agave Syrup comes from the nectar of an agave plant

It is a natural sugar

It is low on the glycemic index which means:

It releases glucose(sugar) more gradually into your bloodstream than table sugar

Where would one use Agave Syrup?

Use it in place of sugar, honey, or maple syrup

Dissolve it in hot or iced tea

My kids favorite is using Dark Agave Syrup on french toast or pancakes

You can find it in Whole Foods, or your Natural Food Market

Enjoy every bite!!!!!

Let me know what you think…

Don’t forget if you would like to be a follower of Simple Clean and Whole, sign up on the right side of the screen

Yummy,

xo Jen

ps:  if you want to learn more about incorporating a  Simple Clean and Whole approach to Nutrition and Lifestyle

Please contact me

jennypm68@me.com

Jen Meister -Certified Holistic Health Counselor

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

